At-a-glance | Global Commission

The Global Commission on the Economy and Climate

The Global Commission on the Economy and Climate has overseen the New Climate Economy project. Chaired by former President of Mexico Felipe Calderón, the Commission comprises former heads of government and finance ministers, and leaders in the fields of economics, business and finance.

Members of the Global Commission endorse the general thrust of the arguments, findings, and recommendations made in this report, but should not be taken as agreeing with every word or number. They serve on the Commission in a personal capacity. The institutions with which they are affiliated have therefore not been asked formally to endorse the report and should not be taken as having done so.

  1. Felipe Calderón (Chair) Former President of Mexico

  2. Nicholas Stern (Co-Chair) I G Patel Chair of Economics and Government, London School of Economics

  3. Ingrid Bonde Chief Finance Officer and Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Vattenfall AB

  4. Sharan Burrow General Secretary, International Trade Union Confederation

  5. Suma ChakrabartiPresident, European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD)

  6. Helen Clark dministrator, United Nations Development Program; former Prime Minister of New Zealand

  7. Luísa Diogo Former Prime Minister of Mozambique

  8. Dan L. Doctoroff Former President & Chief Executive Officer, Bloomberg LP

  9. S. Gopalakrishan Executive Vice-Chairman, INFOSYS; President, Confederation of Indian Industry

  10. Angel Gurría Secretary-General, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

  11. Chad HollidayChairman, Bank of America

  12. Sri Mulyani Indrawati Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer, World Bank; former Finance Minister of Indonesia

  13. Caio Koch-Weser Vice Chairman, Deutsche Bank Group; Chair, Supervisory Board of the European Climate Foundation

  14. Ricardo Lagos Former President of Chile

  15. Naina Lal KidwaiChairman, HSBC India and Director, HSBC Asia Pacific

  16. Zhu Levin President and Chief Executive Officer, China International Capital Corporation

  17. Michel M. Liès Chief Executive Officer, Swiss Re

  18. Kristin Skogen LundDirector-General, Confederation of Norwegian, President and Chief Executive Officer, Statkraft Enterprise

  19. Trevor Manuel Former Finance Minister of South Africa

  20. Takehiko Nakao President, Asian Development Bank

  21. Ngozi Okonjo-IwealaFormer Minister of Finance, Federal Republic of Nigeria

  22. Eduardo Paes Mayor of Rio de Janeiro; Chair, C40 Cities Climate Leadership Group

  23. Annise Parker Mayor of Houston, Texas

  24. Paul PolmanChief Executive Officer, Unilever

  25. Christian Rynning-TønnesenPresident and Chief Executive Officer, Statkraft

  26. Jean-Pascal TricoireChief Executive Officer and Chairman, Schneider Electric

  27. Maria van der Hoeven Executive Director, International Energy Agency

  28. Chen Yuan Vice-Chairman of the National Committee of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference; former Chairman of the China Development Bank